The Tobias’s Club – Literature

Hello, SISters!

You probably don’t know me yet as I am as discreet as Tobias.

So discreet that I only post on twitter when Toby posts something. That is, every four years. Or during a solar eclipse. Depends on your perspective!

But the important thing is that NOW, you will have the opportunity to know me a little, a little BIT. I’m still a mystery.

tenor (1)

When I was given this column I was very much in doubt about what to write. Maybe Cakes? NOPE, we have that already.

Maybe I could talk about my thoughts while I ride my skates but we have that too. Maybe about theories? Got that too.

So I decided to take this to my weekly book club. We have a club that we dedicate to our idol. All five of us! And they said: “why don’t you write about the books, series and movies we talk about here in the club?!”

AND BOOM

My column was born: THE TOBIAS’s CLUB . 

When I suggested it, my editor from the Investigation’s department asked me: “but who the hell is going to read this?”. And then I answered: “people with good taste, like all SISters”.

DON’T LET ME DOWN, PLEASE.

As we know, the Droughtlander has not been easy, and sometimes you wake up in the middle of the night hyperventilating, thinking about S01E07, or in the need of some good old turtle soup …

I WILL help you to relief these symptoms.

How?

With some new and refreshing reading!

giphy

Only then, it will be possible for us to stop thinking a bit about certain fiction’s couple that we love and..REFLECT a bit.

“What are men compared to rocks or mountains?”

tumblr_nt562wfcPv1u41knvo1_500

Did you understand the reference?

Not yet?

Get your tea ready because it’s time to our week indication!

tumblr_n8l0axNWiD1sy3b1jo1_500

 

JANE AUSTEN!

Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 19.54.42.png

 

Yes, we’re going to talk about Jane Austen on this post!

If you still don’t know Jane Austen’s work I recommend you read all her SIX books, way thinner than DG’s by the way, and watch the movies and the series inspired by her books. 

Jane Austen is an english author who lived by the end of 18h century and the beginning of 19h century. She’s known by the irony which she builds her books, from social critics to the time’s behavior.

Besides living in a tense moment in english history (war and expansion of the British Empire) she writes about daily themes and that’s what makes her books so interesting.

Her most famous books are Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion. Both with a happy ending, such a great reading for all of us!

After all, our love life is a catastrophe, so our books MUST have a happy ending.
To have an idea of Wee Jane’s popularity, in 2003, BBC made a quiz about the UK’s most beloved books and Pride and Prejudice won second place, coming behind only of The Lord Of The Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien!

This woman’s influence, A WRITER, is ABSURD even nowadays. Her work is always quoted, adapted and recreated due to its “timeless” tone.

One of the most famous adaptations is the movie Pride and Prejudice (2005), directed by Joe Wright and starred by Keira Knightley (as Elizabeth Bennet) and Matthew Macfadyen (as Mr. sighs Darcy).

Watch the teaser:

 

We don’t know so much as we wanted about her life or how she looked like. But these “mysteries” cause so much curiosity that even a movie was release based in Jane’s story, with Anne Hathaway in the main role and James McAvoy as Tom Lefroy, her supposed love affair.

 

 

SIGHS!

download

About her influence in books and movies:

  • Movies such as Clueless (inspired by Emma) and the Bridget Jones’s Diary (inspired by Pride and Prejudice).
  • When it comes to books, the list is HUGE, but Mr. Darcy’s Diary by Amanda Grange is one of my favorites. Your love for Mr. Darcy is about to increase (just saying).
  • Austenland and The Jane Austen Book Club are also amazing, and they both have movie’s adaptation.
  • Recently, a Brazilian channel disclosed the launch of “Orgulho e Paixão”, new soap opera based in all Austen’s Books, the Tobias’s Club girls and I will not miss a single episode!

Jane Austen and Time Traveling

WHAT?

Does Jane Austen know about Craig Na Dunn?

You thought that I was sane just because I am member of the so restricted and exclusive Tobias’s Club?

Thought it wrong, darling, before anything I’m SIS (and this takes all of my credibility, sanity and lately, my recent memory).

Screen Shot 2018-02-25 at 23.52.54

 

But what does Jane Austen have to do with time traveling and Craig Na Dunn?

With Craig Na Dunn, nothing. This is all DG’s thing. But about time traveling, well perhaps Jane Austen has something to do with it.

I mean, she also met time travelers.

At least in this book’s story…

It seems we can’t scape the time travel, right?
 

That’s why our recommendation is:
32930819

Yes, The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn.

What is it about? Time travel and about Jane Austen.
And about love and meeting the love of your life in the past.

Almost Outlander. But no.

Let’s read the synopsis?

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world’s most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team from the future to “go back,” their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it…however heartbreaking that may prove.

I dare you not to fall in love with this book. It’s amazing the way how Jane and her family are portrayed and the author’s effort to evolve the plot is simply GREAT.

We discussed this book over two weeks ago and still are with it in our minds … scenes as the moonlight between Liam and Rachel …
But this is for you to discover!

Who never wanted to travel back in time just to find the love of your life?

That’s why we from SIS are single (it’s nothing to do with the lack of options or something like that)…We’re waiting in line for our turn at Craig Na Dunn!

So, this is our first recommendation!

Literature, movies and series!

 

Hope you have enjoyed reading as much I liked writing this.

See you next week!

Au Revoir! (french because I’m fancy).

Ps. I accept theme’s suggestions by people so well instructed and refined as I am: Tobias’s fans. ALL EIGHT!

 

#PayMyTherapy

#PayMyCaipirinha

cropped-logo-sis.png

#TheTobiasClub

3 comentários sobre “The Tobias’s Club – Literature

Deixe um comentário

Preencha os seus dados abaixo ou clique em um ícone para log in:

Logotipo do WordPress.com

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta WordPress.com. Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Google

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Google. Sair /  Alterar )

Imagem do Twitter

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Twitter. Sair /  Alterar )

Foto do Facebook

Você está comentando utilizando sua conta Facebook. Sair /  Alterar )

Conectando a %s